A common question that comes to iPhone users mind is How to Move Photos to an Album and Delete From Camera Roll iPhone. So, this is issue is related to managing photos in an iPhone. As we know that within the Camera Roll, there is an “All Photos” album that contains all the recently clicked images. This serves as a repository where all your recent images are stored. From there, you can organize them into separate albums.
If you remove a photo from the “All Photos” album then it is removed from everywhere. But to answer our core topic of the article to move photo to an album and remove from the camera roll, we have listed few solutions that you can try.
Can I remove a photo from my Camera Roll but keep it in an album?
The answer is no, despite all the iOS updates that have been released, you still cannot directly remove a photo from your Camera Roll and simultaneously keep it stored in a new album.
The “All Photos” album acts as the main folder where all your images are stored. Therefore, if any image is removed from there, it will be automatically be removed from every album associated with your Camera Roll.
Whenever anything is saved in your iPhone is initially stored in the “All Photos” folder. So, when something is removed from there, it’s removed from every album you may have added them into.
A solution does exist but it would say it’s trick that allows you to remove a photo from your camera roll while still keeping it in an album. But, the problem with this is that you can’t actually organize them into separate albums.
How to Move Photos to an Album and delete them from Camera Roll
To move a photo into an album and remove it from your Camera Roll without actually removing it from your Camera Roll.
You can do this by hiding it. It means that it’s been hidden from the Camera Roll but stored in a new album called “Hidden.” The good thing is that your photos or videos won’t be deleted (just hidden) from your Camera Roll, and they are still in the Hidden folder album.
However, the problem with this is that you can’t actually organize them into separate albums where you might want them to be; they all have to be stored in a single Hidden folder album that can’t be renamed.
Before you can use the Hidden folder trick, you’ll need to enable it in settings.
To enable it, you’ll need to go to Settings > Photos > Hidden Album and toggle it on. This will allow you to remove photos and videos from your Camera Roll but not albums.
How To hide photos in the Camera Roll
- Open the Photos app and tap on Camera Roll
- Select the image(s) you want to hide
- Tap the sharing button in the lower-left corner
- Scroll left on the options and tap on Hide
- Confirm by tapping “Hide Photos”
After this, the selected photos will be removed or i would say “hidden” from your Camera Roll and placed into the Hidden album.
The photos or videos you’ve hidden won’t show up in the Camera Roll album anymore, nor will they appear in the Years, Collections, or Moments folders.
How to View Hidden Photos and Videos in iPhone
Once you’ve hidden your photos, you won’t see them anywhere if you browse through your albums. Let’s see how you can access hidden photos.
How to Find Hidden Photos & Videos
- Inside Photos app, go to the Albums folder
- Locate the album labeled “Hidden.”
- You’ll be able to see all the hidden images within this album.
Note: Hidden photos can still be treated just like regular photos. For example, you can still share them, delete them, etc.
Recently Deleted Album
Another way is to hide photos from the Camera Roll in iPhone but not from the album is by using the recently deleted album.
Whenever you delete any photo from your camera roll, they all will be stored in the recently deleted folder and gets removed form the album.
However, it’s not a custom folder that you’ve created yourself and can use to store your photos still.
Note: If you delete anything by mistake from a recently deleted folder, you won’t be able to recover it. Also, keep in mind that there is a time limit for recently deleted item after which all your files will be deleted permanently.
Also, you can’t rename something that has been recently deleted and you also can’t keep custom photos there. Anything deleted will stay in this folder, so if your goal is to keep a specific group of photos but not remove from the camera roll, you’ll need to agree that you won’t be able to change its name.
Removing from Camera Roll and storing in Google Drive Folder
If you want to remove a photo from your Camera Roll but not from the album, you can always use an album that isn’t local to your iPhone, like Google Photos. It is a platform for backing up your iPhone photos and storing them in the cloud.
By using Google Photos, you can remove photos from your Camera Roll and store them in an album in Google Photos.
To do this:
- Install Google Photos from the app store
- Tap on Photos. When the menu appears, choose Backup. This backs up the photo to google photos
- After backing up, hold the photo and add to it > choose Album. Here, the photo or video will be moved to a newly named folder.
- Open the photos app, delete all the photos and video you want to delete. Tap on the Bin button and delete the photo.
- Congrats, you have removed photos from your Camera Roll while storing it in an album in Google Photos.
Removing from Camera Roll and storing in PC folder
Another way to hide photos from your Camera Roll but keep them in an album is to remove them from your Camera Roll and store them in a folder in your laptop or computer.
- Go to iCloud.com.
- Enter your Apple ID details and verification code.
- Select the photos you want to keep in the album but want to remove from your Camera Roll.
- Click the Download icon. This will export them to their original folder.
- Open the photos.
- From the Library tab, tap on all photos and choose the photo or video you want to delete.
- Tap on the Bin button and delete the photo. Once deleted, it won’t be in your Camera Roll anymore but will be saved in the selected album on your PC.
Hiding Photos from Camera Roll but not Album
If you want to hide photos from your Camera Roll but don’t want them to disappear from a specific album, you just need to move them to a hidden folder that is automatically created when you hide something in your recent Camera Roll folder.
Unfortunately, when you hide photos from your Camera Roll. They won’t be able to be stored in an album, but they can be placed in an alternative folder.
If you have an Android, particularly a Samsung device, you won’t be able to hide photos from your Camera Roll and keep them in an album. As soon as you remove them from your recent gallery, they will also be removed from the folder they were kept in. Unlike iPhone, you won’t have a hidden folder or a recently deleted folder that you can use.
Can you delete photos from camera roll but keep in album on iPhone?
You can only remove photos from the library by deleting them from the albums you’ve created yourself. So, create albums for all those photos you want to distribute in other albums, organize them, and then remove them from “All My Photos” after arranging them.
Can I delete photos from my camera roll if I add them to an album?
The photos uploaded to your album are not directly linked to the original photos/videos on your device. As a result, removing photos/videos from your device won’t affect the photos/videos uploaded to your album. However, if your photo/video upload was unsuccessful, you’ll need to upload it again.
How do i move photos from my camera roll
To move photos on your iPhone, open “Photos,” tap “Albums,” select “Camera Roll,” tap “Select,” choose photos, tap “Add To,” pick or create an album, and tap “Add” or “Done.” Check the destination album for successful transfer. Interface may vary with iOS versions.