The iPhone is a powerful device that comes with numerous features, one of which is location sharing. This feature helps you to keep track of your near and dear ones.
In order to stay connected and tackle any unwanted situation, iPhone users share their location with friends or family. Enabling location sharing is easy and so is the disabling.
Kids, sometimes, disable their location sharing on iPhone so that their parent can’t track them. or may be one of your known contact stopped sharing their location with you for nay reason then you won’t be able to check their location or track them.
These type of incidents puts us in a situation where we ask ourself, why can’t i see someone’s location on iPhone
How to Know If Someone Stopped Sharing Location on the iPhone
If you suspect that someone has stopped sharing their location with you on the iPhone, here are a few methods to confirm
Simply, open the find my phone app in your iPhone and check if it saying not sharing location then this means that the person has disabled or not more sharing the location with you.
Let’s get into more details with step by step process
How to check shared location on iPhone Using Find My App
Step 1: Open the Find my App on your Apple iPhone
Step 2: Navigate to the people tab
Step 3: Here, you get to see list to device / people who who are sharing their location with you temporarily or sharing location indefinity on iPhone
Step 4: Here, look for that person’s live location you suspect has stopped sharing you the location.
If you see Not sharing location. online as show in the image below, this means that the person has stopped sharing location with you.
Here, a question rises what if the person is still sharing the location but the their internet is off.
Well, if you closely read the message “Not sharing location. online“, it has two parts.
Part 1: Not sharing location – This shows that
Part 2: Online – it signifies, that the person has an active internet connect and is online
so, the person is online and we still can’t see their location this indicates that the other person has stopped sharing their location.
if there internet connect is off, you won’t see the “online” in the message.
Now, second method will put a confirmation if truly someone stopped sharing their location with you on iPhone.
How to know if someone stops sharing location By Using iMessage
Another method to check when someone stopped sharing their location with you.
Step 1: Open the iMessage app on the iPhone
Step 2: Open the pervious conversation with the contact
Step 3: Tap on contact’s name, this shows setting like read receipts, focus status sharing, and hide alert option.
Now, comes the main part, if the person is still sharing the live location on iPhone, you will see a map with a tag of person’s live location.
Here is the image for your reference.
But, if you don’t see any map in the iMessage app then it means the person has disabled the location sharing with you.
How to tell if someone stopped sharing location using Send a location request
Another way to confirm if someone has stopped sharing their location is by sending them a location request.
Step 1: Open the Messages app on your iPhone
Step 2: Find the conversation thread with the person
Step 3: Tap on the “i” icon in the top right corner of the screen
Step 4: Select “Share My Location” from the options
If you receive a message saying “Location Not Available” or no response at all, it means that the person is no longer sharing their location with you.
What happens when someone stops sharing their location with you?
You cannot see or check the person’s location in your iPhone if they stopped sharing their location with you.
If you want to know someone’s location on your iPhone or Android phone or tablet, they have to share their location with you. That’s the requirement.
However, if the person stops sharing their location with you, it means you won’t be able to track them on your iPhone unless you use alternative methods or third party applications
If someone stopped sharing location with me would they be able to see my location
The answer is yes, because they intentionally chose to disable the live location sharing with you but you didn’t.
So, the advisable thing is as soon as you find out that someone stopped sharing location with, you also disable location location with the person.
How to stop sharing my location with someone
In order to stop sharing your location with another iPhone or any other Apple device, follow these steps;
Step 1: Inside the contact app, tap the contact of the person
Step 2: At the bottom, you will see an option saying “Stop sharing My Location”
Step 3: Tap on this option and it will immediately stop sharing your iPhone’s location
You could also disable the location sharing through iMessage application.
Step 1: Open the IMessage app
Step 2: Locate the conversation with the person or open the new conversation with the person
Step 3: Tap on person’s name
Step 4: On the next screen, you see an option to stop sharing you location
Go ahead and tap the option to stop sharing your location with another iPhone or any other Apple device.
Possible reason behind why can’t I see someone’s location on iPhone
The possible reason could be any of these;
- The person may have disabled location sharing with you specifically.
- They might have turned off location services on their iPhone.
- The Find My app might not be properly configured on their device.
- They could be in an area with poor or no network connectivity.
- They may have logged out of their iCloud account, which is required for location sharing.
- The person’s device might be turned off or experiencing technical issues.
- The person may have restricted location access for the Find My app or the specific contact.
Do you get notified when someone stops sharing location
The iPhone won’t Tell You When Someone Stops Sharing Their Location. Instead, you can only find out by checking the Find My app or the iMessage conversation.
Before iOS 15.6, on iMessage, you would receive a message when someone stopped sharing their location with you. However, that feature has been removed.
Why Does It Say I Stopped Sharing My Location With Someone When I Didn’t
This possible reason behind this could be;
- Your location services are off
- share my location is not active iPad or iPhone or iMac
For location to work properly, both parties should have a working internet connection.
Or, in some cases, this behavior of iPhone could be due to a software glitch. in that case, simply reboot the iPhone and also check for above probable causes for the error.